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Read Your Certificate Carefully 
You are insured under the group policy shown on the 
certificate specifications page.  This certificate 
summarizes the principal provisions of the group policy 
that affect you.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.  
You may examine the group policy at the principal office of 
the policyholder during regular working hours.   

 

Legal Actions 
No legal action may be brought to recover on this 
certificate within the first sixty days after written proof of 
loss has been given as required by this certificate.  No 
such action may be brought after three years from the 
time written proof of loss is required to be given. 
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment  
Certificate Specifications Page 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company, a Securian Financial Group affiliate 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 

GENERAL INFORMATION 
   
POLICYHOLDER: State of Maryland POLICY NUMBER:  34190-G 
  
POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2013 
  
CERTIFICATE EFFECTIVE DATE: The date that the certificate holder becomes insured under the group policy. 

 
This certificate and/or certificate specifications page replaces any and all certificates and/or certificate 
specifications pages previously issued to you under the group policy.  Please replace any certificate and/or 
certificate specifications page previously issued to you with this new certificate and/or specifications page. 
 
GROUP: The group is composed of all active and retired employees of the policyholder 

and its associated companies as defined by COMAR 17.04.13.03 as active 
members. 

 

  
PLAN OF INSURANCE 
  

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
  
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
  
 Eligible Class Amount of AD&D Insurance  
  
 All eligible active employees $100,000, $200,000 or $300,000 as elected by the employee. 
   

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
  
DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
  
The amount of Dependent’s AD&D insurance is based on the composition of the employee’s family as follows: 
  
 Employee’s Family Consists of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
   
 Spouse and Eligible Children Spouse:         55% of employee’s amount of insurance 
  Each Child:    15% of employee’s amount of insurance* 
   
 Spouse and No Eligible Children Spouse:         65% of employee’s amount of insurance 
   
 No Spouse but Eligible Children Each Child:    25% of employee’s amount of insurance* 
   
                                                                                 * The maximum benefit for child coverage is $50,000. 

 
 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: All AD&D insurance is contributory insurance. 
  
INCREASES AND DECREASES: Dependents insurance shall automatically increase or decrease as 

the employee’s amount of insurance increases or decreases. 
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Definitions 
application 

Your application for insurance under the group policy and, 
if required, your evidence of insurability application. 

attained age 

The insured’s age as of his or her last birthday as 
determined on the policy anniversary date. 

eligible person 

As defined by COMAR 17.04.13.03 (excluding A1-10) as 
amended. 

employer, policyholder 

The  State of Maryland. 

insured 

An eligible person  or dependent of an eligible person who 
is covered for insurance under this certificate. 

specifications page 

The outline which summarizes your coverge under the 
group policy. 

licensed physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  The 
physician cannot be you or your spouse, children, parents, 
grandparents, grandchildren, brothers or sisters, or the 
spouse of any such individuals. 

we, our, us 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company. 

you, your, certificate holder 

An insured person. 

General Information 
What is your agreement with us? 

You are insured under the group policy 34190-G issued 
under policy form number 13-31487 et al.  Your 
application is deemed a part of this certificate.  This 
certificate summarizes the principal provisions of your 
accidental death and dismemberment insurance provided 
by the group policy.  The provisions summarized in this 
certificate are subject in every respect to the group policy.   

This certificate is issued in consideration of your 
application and the payment of the required premium. 

In making any benefits determination under this certificate 
and the group policy, we shall have the discretionary 

authority both to determine an individual's eligibility for 
benefits and to construe the terms of this certificate and 
the group policy. 

Can this certificate be amended? 

Yes.  Your consent is not required to amend this 
certificate.  Any amendment will be without prejudice to 
any claim for benefits incurred prior to the effective date of 
the amendment.  

Who is eligible for insurance? 

You are eligible if you: 

(1) are an eligible employee and of an eligible class 
as defined in the group policy; and  

(2) meet the actively at work requirement as shown in 
the section entitled “What is the actively at work 
requirement?”. 

 
What is the actively at work requirement? 

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase 
in the amount of insurance, you must be actively at work 
fully performing your customary duties for your regularly 
scheduled hours at the employer’s normal place of 
business, or at other places the employer’s business 
requires you to travel. 

If you are not working due to illness or injury, you do not 
meet the actively at work requirement. 

If you are not actively at work on the date coverage would 
otherwise begin, or on the date an increase in your 
amount of insurance would otherwise be effective, you will 
not be eligible for the coverage or increase until you return 
to active work.  However, if the absence is on a non-work 
day, coverage will not be delayed provided you were 
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding 
the non-work day. 

Except as otherwise provided for in this certificate, you are 
eligible to continue to be insured only while you remain 
actively at work. 

Can your coverage be continued during sickness, 
injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff? 

Yes.  Insurance may be continued on an insured 
employee who is not actively at work due to sickness, 
injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff, subject to the 
employer's practices and procedures, including the 
employer's limits on the length of continuation allowed for 
the type of absence.  Continuation is contingent upon 
continued premium payment and is subject to the 
following maximum time frames: 

(1) for an employee on a non-medical leave of 
absence or temporary layoff, insurance may be 
continued for up to two years from the last day the 
insured employee was actively at work. 
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(2) for an employee on an approved FMLA leave, 
insurance may be continued until the insured is no 
longer on an approved FMLA leave.   

(3) for an employee on a military leave of absence, 
insurance may be continued for up to five years 
from the last day the insured employee was 
actively at work. 

(4) For an employee on a medical leave of absence 
insurance may be continued up to age 65 or one 
year, whichever is longer. 
 

Continuation of insurance must be in accordance with 
practices and procedures that preclude individual 
selection.  

Coverage during a leave of absence and upon return from 
a leave of absence shall meet all state and federal 
requirements.  The above limits will be expanded if 
necessary in order to meet such requirements.  

Enrollment 
When can you elect or make changes to your 
insurance? 

You must enroll in order to be insured under the group 
policy.  You can enroll for coverage within 60 days of 
when you first become eligible.  After that period, you can 
only enroll for coverage or make changes during your 
employer’s annual open enrollment or within 60 days of a 
qualified status change event.  Qualified status change is 
defined by the policyholder based on state and federal 
rules and regulations. 

When does insurance become effective? 

Insurance becomes effective  at 12:00 a.m. local time on 
the day following the end of the pay period during which 
the first contribution has been taken for such insurance 
after all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) you meet all eligibility requirements, including the 
actively at work requirement; and 

(2) you apply for the insurance on forms which are 
approved by us; and 

(3) the required premium has been paid. 
 

In addition, elections made during an annual open 
enrollment period will not become effective prior to the 
effective date of that enrollment. 

Premiums 
When and how often are your premium contributions 
due? 

Unless the policyholder and we have agreed to some 
other premium payment procedure, any premium 
contributions you are required to make for contributory 
insurance are to be paid by you to the policyholder on a 
periodic basis.  We apply premiums consecutively to keep 
the insurance in force.  Premium rates are subject to 
change in accordance with the group policy. 

Can a premium be paid after the date it is due? 

Yes.  The group policy has a 31-day grace period.  If a 
premium is not paid on or before the date it is due, that 
premium may be paid during the 31-day period following 
the due date.  The insurance under the group policy will 
remain in effect during the 31-day grace period. 

Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Benefit 
What does accidental death or dismemberment by 
accidental injury mean? 

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
means that an insured’s death or dismemberment results, 
directly and independently of all other causes, from an 
accidental injury which is unintended, unexpected, and 
unforeseen.  The  accident must occur while the insured’s 
coverage is in force.  The insured’s death or 
dismemberment must occur within 365 days after the date 
of the injury. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit? 

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the 
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to this certificate.  The percentage is determined 
by the type of loss as shown in the following table: 

 PERCENT OF 
TYPE OF LOSS AMOUNT OF INSURANCE 

Life .............................................................................. 100% 
Both Hands or Both Feet ............................................ 100% 
Sight of Both Eyes ...................................................... 100% 
Speech and Hearing ................................................... 100% 
One Hand and One Foot ............................................ 100% 
One Foot and Sight of One Eye ................................. 100% 
One Hand and Sight of One Eye ................................ 100% 
Quadriplegia ............................................................... 100% 
Brain Damage ............................................................. 100% 
One Arm or One Leg .................................................... 75% 
Hemiplegia .................................................................... 75% 
Sight of One Eye .......................................................... 50% 
Speech or Hearing........................................................ 50% 
One Hand or One Foot ................................................. 50% 
Paraplegia .................................................................... 50% 
Thumb and Index Finger of One Hand ......................... 25% 
Coma ...........................................1% monthly beginning on 
 ...................................................... the 7th day of the Coma 
 ..........................................................  for the duration of the 
 .................................................... coma for up to 60 months 
 
Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or 
above the wrist or ankle joints.  Loss of sight, speech, or 
hearing means the entire and irrecoverable loss of sight, 
speech, or hearing which cannot be corrected by medical 
or surgical treatment or by artificial means.  Loss of thumb 
and index finger means complete severance of both the 
thumb and the index finger at or above the 
metacarpophalangeal joints.   
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Quadriplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
upper limbs (from the shoulder down including total 
paralysis of both hands) and both lower limbs (from the 
waist down including total paralysis of both feet).  
Paraplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
lower limbs (from the waist down including total paralysis 
of both feet).  Hemiplegia means total and permanent 
paralysis of both the upper limb (from the shoulder down 
including total paralysis of the hand) and lower limb (from 
the waist down including total paralysis of the foot) on one 
side of the body.   

Brain Damage means the permanent and irriversable 
physical damage to the brain causing the complete 
inability to perform all the substantial and material 
functions and activities normal to everyday life.  Such 
damage must manifest iteslf within 30 days of the 
accidental injury, require a hospitalization of at least 5 
days and persist for 12 consecutive months after the date 
of the accidental injury. 

Coma means a state of deep and total unconciousness 
from which the comatose person cannot be aroused.  
Such state must begin within 30 days of the accidental 
injury and continue for 7 consecutive days. 

A benefit is not payable for both loss of thumb and index 
finger of one hand and the loss of one hand for injury to 
the same hand as a result of any one accident.  Under no 
circumstance will more than one payment be made for the 
same loss or paralysis of the same limb. 

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental injury, 
but the total amount of insurance payable for all of an 
insured’s losses due to any one accident, not including 
any amount paid according to the terms of the Additional 
Benefits sections of this certificate, will never exceed the 
insured’s full amount of insurance shown on the 
specifications page attached to this certificate. 

What are the notice of claim and proof of loss 
requirements? 

Written notice of injury on which a claim may be based 
must be given to us within 30 days after the accident.  
However, failure to give such notice within the time 
provided will not invalidate the claim if it is not reasonably 
possible to give notice within 30 days and if it is shown 
that the notice was given as soon as reasonably possible.  
Proof of loss must be furnished to us within 90 days after 
the date of loss.  However, failure to give such proof within 
the time provided will not invalidate the claim if it is not 
reasonably possible to give proof within 90 days and if it is 
shown that proof was given as soon as reasonably 
possible and except in the absence of legal capacity of the 
claimant, not later than one year from the time proof is 
otherwise required. 

When we receive written notice of claim, we will send the 
claimant our claim forms if he or she needs them.  If the 
claimant does not receive the forms within 15 days after 
notice of claim is received, we will accept his or her written 
description of proof of the occurrence, character, and 
extent of the loss for which the claim is made as proof of 
loss. 

When will the accidental death or dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the accidental death and dismemberment 
benefit  within 30 days of written proof satisfactory to us 
that an insured died or suffered a covered 
dismemberment while insured under this certificate.  All 
payments by us are payable from our home office.  The 
death benefit will be paid in a single sum or by any other 
method agreeable to us and the beneficiary. 

To whom will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit? 

In the case of your accidental death, we will pay the 
accidental death benefit to your beneficiary or 
beneficiaries.  All other benefits will be payable to you, if 
living, otherwise to your estate. 

You should designate a beneficiary or beneficiaries when 
you first enroll under the plan.  You can change your 
beneficiary designation at any time, provided all of the 
following are true: 

(1) your coverage is in force; and 
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable 

beneficiaries; and 
(3) you have not assigned the ownership of your 

insurance. 
 

A beneficiary designation must be made in writing or by 
any other method we make available under the plan.  Any 
beneficiary designation shall take effect as of the date it is 
signed, but will not affect any payment we make or action 
we take before receiving the designation.     

You may also choose to name a beneficiary that you 
cannot change without the beneficiary’s consent.  This is 
called an irrevocable beneficiary. 

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an 
equal share, unless you have requested another method 
in your beneficiary designation.  To receive the death 
benefit, a beneficiary must be living at the time of your 
death.  In the event a beneficiary is not living at the time of 
your death, that beneficiary’s portion of the death benefit 
shall be equally distributed to the remaining surviving 
beneficiaries.  In the event of the simultaneous deaths of 
you and a beneficiary, the death benefit will be paid as if 
you survived the beneficiary.  

If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if you do not name 
one, we will pay the death benefit to: 

(1) your lawful spouse, if living; otherwise 
(2) your natural or legally adopted child (children) in 

equal shares, if living; otherwise 
(3) your parents in equal shares, if living; otherwise 
(4) your brothers and sisters in equal shares, if living; 

otherwise 
(5) the personal representative of your estate. 
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Exclusions 

What are the exclusions under this certificate? 

In no event will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or 
dismemberment results from or is caused directly or 
indirectly by any of the following: 

(1) physical or mental illness, diagnosis of or 
treatment for the illness; or 

(2) an infection, unless it is caused by an external 
wound that can be seen and which was sustained 
in an accident; or 

(3) suicide or attempted suicide; or 
(4) injuring oneself on purpose; or 
(5) the use of any drug or medicine; or 
(6) a loss for which the contributing cause was the 

insured’s commission of or attempt to commit a 
felony; or  

(7) a loss for which the contributing cause was the 
insured being intoxicated or  under the influence 
of any narcotic; or 

(8) service in the armed forces of any country or 
international authority, except the United States 
National Guard. 

 
Additional Benefits 
Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to 
the same person or persons who receive the accidental 
death and dismemberment benefits.  Additional benefits 
are paid in addition to any accidental death and 
dismemberment benefits described in the Accidental 
Death and Dismemberment section, unless otherwise 
stated.  All provisions of this certificate, including but not 
limited to the Exclusions section shall apply to these 
additional benefits. 

Air Bag Benefit 

What is the air bag benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional accidental death 
and dismemberment benefit equal to the lesser of $10,000 
or 5% of the insured’s amount of insurance but not less 
than $1,000, provided: 

(1) the seat in which the insured was seated was 
equipped with a properly installed airbag at the 
time of the accident; and 

(2) the private passenger car is equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(3) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the 
time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer. 

 
Airbag means a passive restraint device in a vehicle which 
inflates upon collision to protect an individual from injury or 
death. 

Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child 
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder 
restraint, or other restraint approved by the National 
Highway Traffic Safety Administration or any successor 
governmental agency.  A private passenger car means a 
validly registered four-wheeled private passenger car or 
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, 
including a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed 
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or 
stunt driving. 

Disappearance Benefit 

What is the disappearance benefit? 

If an insured’s body has not been found after one year 
from the date the conveyance in which he or she was 
traveling disappeared, exploded, sank, became stranded, 
made a forced landing or was wrecked, it shall be 
presumed, subject to all other terms of the policy, that the 
insured has died as a result of an accidental injury which 
was unintended, unexpected and unforeseen.  Such death 
shall be considered a covered loss under this certificate. 

Child Care Benefit 

What is the child care benefit? 

If you die as a result of a covered accident and are 
survived by one or more dependent children under age 
12, we will pay additional benefits to reimburse for child 
care expenses incurred for your dependent children while 
under age 12.   

The benefit for each child per year will be the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) a maximum of 12% of your AD&D insurance 

amount; or 
(3) actual incurred child care expenses. 
 

Child care expenses are those expenses which are for a 
service or supply furnished by a licensed child care 
provider or facility for a dependent child’s care.  No 
payment will be made for expenses incurred more than 
four years after the date of your death or for expenses 
incurred for dependent children over age 12.  Proof of 
incurred child care expenses shall be required before any 
benefit payment is made.  The child care benefit will be 
paid to your surviving spouse, the child’s guardian, the 
custodian under the Uniform Transfers to Minors Act or to 
an adult caretaker when permitted under state law.   

Child Education Benefit 

What is the child education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of your 
dependent children if you die as a result of a covered 
accident and are survived by one or more dependent 
children, provided that: 

(1) at the time of your death, the dependent child is 
enrolled as a full-time student at an accredited 
post-secondary educational institution (however, 
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no benefit will be payable for the current school 
year); or 

(2) the dependent child enrolls on a full-time basis in 
an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution within one year of your death. 
 

The benefit for each child will be the lesser of: 

(1) the actual tuition charged, exclusive of room and 
board; or 

(2) a maximum of 20% of your amount of insurance; 
or 

(3) a maximum of $10,000 per academic year. 
 

The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each 
school year for a maximum of four consecutive years.  
The benefit will be paid to the dependent child if he or 
she is of legal age.  If the dependent child is not of legal 
age the benefit will be paid to the person who provides 
proof they have paid or will pay the tuition bill for that 
school year.  Proof of enrollment and tuition costs are 
required for each school year. 

Common Accident Benefit 

What is the common accident benefit? 

If both an insured employee and his or her dependent 
spouse die from covered accidental injuries sustained in a 
common accident, the spouse’s accidental death benefit 
will be increased to an amount equal to 100% of the 
insured employee’s amount of AD&D insurance. 

Common accident means the same accident or separate 
accidents that occur within the same 24-hour period. 

Common Carrier Benefit 

What is the common carrier benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while the insured is a fare-paying passenger on a 
common carrier vehicle, we will pay an additional benefit 
equal to 100% of the insured’s amount of AD&D 
insurance. 

Public transportation vehicle means any air, land or water 
vehicle operated under a license for the transportation of 
fare paying passengers.  

Exposure Benefit 

What is the exposure benefit? 

If an insured is unavoidably exposed to the elements by 
reason of a covered accident and suffers a loss that is 
included in the list of covered losses as a result of such 
exposure, such loss will be covered under the terms of 
this certificate. 

Hospital/Extended Care Facility Benefit 

What is the hospital benefit? 

If an insured requires hospitalization or extended care as 
a result of a covered accident, an additional benefit will be 
paid to you during such hospitalization/extended care 
facility stay.  After a four-day waiting period, a monthly 
benefit equal to 1% of the insured’s amount of insurance 
will be paid, subject to a maximum of $2,500 per month for 
up to 12 months.   

Payments for periods of less than a full month will be 
made on a pro-rata (daily accrual) basis.  If the period of 
hospitalization exceeds four days, the benefit will be paid 
retroactively to the first day of hospitalization.  No benefit 
is payable for hospitalizations of four days or fewer. 

Hospital means a facility which:    

(1) is licensed as an acute hospital; and  
(2) provides diagnostic and therapeutic facilities for 

the surgical or medical diagnosis, treatment, and 
care of injured and sick persons as inpatients; and  

(3) has a staff of licensed physicians available at all 
times; and  

(4) is credited by the Joint Commission on 
Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations 
(JCAHO) or is recognized by the American 
Hospital Association (AHA) and is qualified to 
receive payments under the Medicare program; 
and  

(5) always provides 24 hour nursing services by 
registered graduate nurses; and  

(6) is not a place primarily for custodial or 
maintenance care.  

 
Extended care facility means an institution which:  

(1) is duly licensed as an extended care facility, 
skilled nursing facility, or convalescent hospital 
and operates in accordance with governing laws 
and regulations; and  

(2) regularly provides inpatient skilled nursing care for 
payment during the active or convalescent state of 
an injury; and  

(3) is staffed with a physician or registered nurse on 
duty 24 hours a day; and   

(4) operates in accordance with medical policies 
supervised and established by a physician; and  

(5) regularly maintains a daily medical record for each 
patient.   

 
The term extended care facility shall not include a place 
that provides health care services primarily for custodial or 
domiciliary care or for the care of drug addiction, 
alcoholism or mental disorders. 
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Seatbelt Benefit 

What is the seatbelt benefit? 

If  an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional accidental death 
and dismemberment benefit equal to the lesser of $25,000 
or 10% of the insured’s amount of insurance but not less 
than $1,000, provided: 

(1) the private passenger car was equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(2) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the 
time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer. 
 

Spouse Education Benefit 

What is the spouse education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of your spouse 
if you die as a result of a covered accident and are 
survived by your spouse, provided that your spouse 
enrolls in a program of higher education within 12 months 
after your death. 

The benefit is payable for the amount equal to tuition 
charges incurred for up to 1 academic year, subject to the 
lesser of $5,000 or 3% of your amount of AD&D 
insurance. 

Proof of enrollment and tuition costs shall be required 
before any payment will be made. 
 
Portability Benefit 
What is the portability benefit? 

The portability benefit provides for continuation of your 
group accidental death and dismemberment insurance if 
you no longer meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate, except as provided for herein. 

To continue coverage under the provisions of this benefit, 
you must make a written request and make the first 
premium contribution within 31 days after insurance 
provided by the group policy would otherwise terminate.  
Coverage provided by this benefit will then be deemed 
effective retroactive to the beginning of the 31-day period.  
This date is considered to be your portability date and you 
are then considered to have portability status. 

Who is eligible to continue insurance under this 
benefit? 

You are eligible to continue insurance under this benefit if 
you, except as provided by this benefit, no longer meet the 
eligibility requirements of this certificate due to any of the 
following: 

(1) you terminate employment, including retirement; 
or  

(2) you are no longer in a class eligible for insurance 
or you are on a leave or layoff; or 

(3) a class or group of employees insured under the 
policy are no longer considered eligible and there 
is no successor plan for that class or group.  
Successor plan means an insurance policy or 
policies provided by us or another insurer that 
replaces insurance provided under this policy. 

 
You will not be eligible to request coverage under this 
benefit if you: 

(1) have attained the age of 70; or 
(2) were not actively at work due to sickness or injury 

on the day immediately preceding your portability 
date; 

(3) lose eligibility due to a class or group of 
employees no longer being eligible under the 
policy and there is a successor plan for that class 
or group of employees; or 

(4) lose eligibility due to termination of the group 
policy. 

 
What insurance can be continued under this benefit? 

All AD&D insurance may be continued under this benefit.  
If you elect to continue your own coverage according to 
the provisions of this benefit, you may also elect to 
continue contributory insurance for any other individual 
insured under your certificate.  You may also continue 
coverage under all additional benefits to such certificate 
which apply to contributory insurance and by which you 
were insured immediately preceding your portability date, 
except for the waiver of premium benefit, which shall 
terminate upon porting. 

What is the minimum amount of insurance that can be 
continued under this benefit? 

The minimum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this benefit is $10,000.   The minimum does not 
apply to any other insureds covered under this benefit. 

What is the maximum amount of insurance that can 
be continued under this benefit? 

The maximum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this benefit is the amount of insurance that was in 
force on your portability date But not more than $500,000. 

Will the amount of insurance continued under this 
benefit change? 

Yes.  When you attain age 65, the amount of insurance 
continued under this benefit will reduce to 65% of the 
amount of insurance in force on the day prior to your 
attainment of age 65.  Insurance terminates at age 70. 
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Can you request a change in your amount of 
insurance continued under this benefit? 

Yes.  You may elect to reduce the amount of insurance 
provided under your certificate.  The remaining amount of 
insurance must be at least $10,000.  The amount of 
insurance continued under this benefit will never increase. 

How will premium contributions be paid? 

Premium contributions will be paid directly to us on a 
monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual basis and will 
be subject to an administrative charge per billing period.  
We may adjust the amount of the charge, but not more 
often than once per year. 

Can the premium rate change? 

Yes.  The premium rate may increase on the portability 
date.  The premium rate may also increase in the future 
but will not change more often than once per year. 

What happens if you again become eligible under this 
certificate? 

If you are continuing coverage under the provisions of this 
benefit and again meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate, not including the terms of this benefit, you shall 
no longer be considered to have portability status.  Your 
insurance may be provided only under the terms of this 
certificate, not including this benefit, unless and until you 
no longer meet the eligibility requirements of this 
certificate and again return to portability status as provided 
for herein.  An insured cannot be covered under this 
certificate with both portability status and non-portability 
status. 

What happens to insurance provided under this 
benefit when the group policy terminates? 

Notwithstanding anything in this certificate to the contrary, 
termination of the group policy will not terminate insurance 
then in force for any person with portability status.  The 
group policy will be deemed to remain in force solely for 
the purpose of continuing such insurance, but without 
further obligation of the policyholder. 

Any insurance continued under the terms of this benefit 
will remain in force until terminated by the provision 
entitled “When will insurance continued under this benefit 
terminate?”. 

No individual may elect coverage under this benefit on or 
after the date of termination of the group policy. 

When will insurance continued under this benefit 
terminate? 

Insurance continued under this benefit will terminate at 12: 
a.m. local time on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the insured’s 70th birthday; or 
(2) the date the insured again meets the eligibility 

requirements of this certificate, not including the 
terms of this benefit; or 

(3) in the case of a dependent child or a spouse who 
is insured under your coverage, the date your 
coverage is no longer being continued under this 
benefit or the date your spouse or child ceases to 
be eligible as defined under the terms of this 
certificate; or 

(4) 31 days after the due date of any premium 
contribution which is not made. 

 
Termination 
When does your insurance end? 

Your insurance ends on the earliest at 12:00 a.m. local 
time of the following: 

(1) the date the group policy ends; or 
(2) if your eligibility ends on the 1st through the 15th of 

the month, your coverage will terminate on the 
16th of that month.  If eligibility ends on the 16th 
through the last day of the month, coverage will 
terminate on the last day of that month; or 

(3) the date the group policy is amended so you are 
no longer eligible; or 

(4) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(5) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been paid following your written request to cease 
participation under this certificate.  

 
If your insurance under this certificate terminates due to 
non-payment of premiums, your coverage may be 
reinstated if all premiums due are paid and received by us 
within 31 days of the date of termination and during your 
lifetime. 

Family Coverage 
If you have dependents, you may elect accidental death 
and dismemberment coverage for your eligible 
dependents as described below. 

What members of your family are eligible for this 
benefit? 

The following members of your family are eligible for 
insurance under this supplement: 

(1) your lawful spouse who is not legally separated 
from you and who is not eligible for insurance as 
an employee under the group policy; and 

(2) your or your spouse’s natural, legally adopted 
children, and stepchildren who are less than 26 
years old. Eligibility begins at live birth (stillborn or 
unborn children are not eligible). Children age 26 
or older are also eligible if they are physically or 
mentally incapable of self-support, were incapable 
of self-support prior to age 26 and are financially 
dependent on you for more than one-half of their 
support and maintenance. 

(3) your or your spouse’s grandchildren, legal ward 
and step-grandchildren or other dependent child 
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relatives who are less than 25 years old, reside in 
your home, are unmarried, are not eligible for 
coverage under their own employer and you 
provide sole support. 

If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees 
under the group policy, the child shall be considered a 
dependent of only one parent for purposes of this benefit.  
If any child qualifies as an eligible employee under the 
group policy, he or she is not eligible to be insured as a 
dependent child. 

When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective at 12:00 
a.m. local time on the date when all of the following 
conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; 
and 

(2) you apply for dependents coverage on forms 
which are approved by us; and 

(3) the required premium has been paid. 
 
Any dependent who, subsequent to the effective date of 
your certificate supplement for dependents accidental 
death and dismemberment insurance, meets the 
requirements of this provision will become insured on the 
date he or she so qualifies unless additional premium is 
required.  If additional premium is required, the insurance 
of such later-acquired dependent shall be effective under 
the same conditions which apply if you were then first 
becoming eligible for dependents insurance under this 
certificate. 

If a dependent is hospitalized or confined because of 
illness or disease on the date his or her insurance would 
otherwise become effective, his or her effective date shall 
be delayed until he or she is released from such 
hospitalization or confinement.  This does not apply to a 
newborn child.  However, in no event will insurance on a 
dependent be effective before your insurance under this 
certificate is effective. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit for each insured dependent? 

The amount of insurance for a dependent is shown on the 
specifications page.  The “Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment” section found earlier in this certificate 
describes the amount of benefits, which are based on the 
amount of insurance. 

To whom will we pay a dependent’s accidental death 
or dismemberment benefit? 

A dependent’s accidental death or dismemberment benefit 
will be paid to you, if living, otherwise to your estate. 

Dependent Benefit Termination 
When does an insured dependent’s coverage 
terminate? 

An insured dependent’s coverage terminates at 12:00 
a.m. local time on the earliest of the following: 

(1) the date the dependent no longer meets the 
eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 31 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any unpaid premium if the premium remains 
unpaid at that time; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been made following an insured employee’s 
written request that insurance on his or her 
dependents be terminated; or 

(4) the date the employee is no longer covered under 
the group policy. 

 
You must notify us or the employer when you no longer 
have any dependents eligible for coverage under this 
benefit so that premiums may be discontinued.  All 
premiums paid for dependents who are no longer eligible 
for coverage under this benefit will be refunded without 
any payment of claim. 

Additional Information 
Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have an insured medically 
examined at our expense whenever a claim is pending 
and, where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to 
have an autopsy performed at our expense in the case of 
death. 

What if an insured’s age has been misstated? 

If an insured’s age has been misstated, the accidental 
death or dismemberment benefit payable will be that 
amount to which the insured is entitled based on his or her 
correct age. 

A premium adjustment will be made to the premium you 
pay for the insured's noncontributory insurance and to the 
premium an insured pays for contributory insurance, if 
any, so that the actual premium required at the insured's 
correct age is paid. 

When does an insured's insurance become 
incontestable? 

 A statement made by any person covered under the 
policy relating to insurability may not be used in contesting 
the validity of the insurance with respect to which the 
statement was made after the insurance has been in force 
before the contest for a perod of two years during the 
person’s lifetime.Any statements made  in your or an  
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insured’s application  will, in the absence of fraud, be 
considered representations and not warranties.  Also, any 
statement made  will not be used to void the insurance,  or 
reduce benefits under the policy unless the statement is 
contained ina written instrument signed by you or an 
insured and a copy of the statement is given to you, an 
insured or a beneficiary of the insured. 
 
Can your insurance be assigned? 

Yes.  However, we will not be bound by an assignment of 
a certificate or of any interest in such certificate unless the 
assignment is made in writing or through any other 
method made available under the plan and we send the 
owner an acknowledgement of the assignment.   

We are not responsible for the validity of any assignment.  
You are responsible for ensuring that the assignment is 
legal in your state and that it accomplishes your intended 
goals.  If a claim is based on an assignment, we may 
require proof of interest of the claimant. 

Will the provisions of this certificate conform with 
state law? 

Yes.  If any provision in this certificate, or in the provisions 
of the group policy, is in conflict with the laws of the state 
governing the certificate or the group policy, the provision 
will be amended to conform to such laws and filed and 
approved in the state prior to use.   
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Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company  
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098
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Life Insurance
The basic protections provided by the Corporations are:

$300,000 in death benefits
$100,000 in cash surrender or withdrawal values

•
•

Health Insurance
$300,000 in health insurance benefits, including net cash surrenders and net cash withdrawal values

$300,000 for disability insurance
$300,000 for long-term care insurance

•
•

•
•
•

Annuities
•

The maximum amount of protection for each individual, regardless of the number of policies or contracts is:

•

•

• $500,000 in aggregate for basic hospital, medical, and surgical insurance or major medical insurance

THERESE M. GOLDSMITH
Insurance Commissioner

This Notice provides a brief summary of the Maryland Life and Health Guaranty Corporation (the Corporation) and the
protection it provides for policyholders.  This safety net was created under Maryland law, which determines who and what
is covered and the amount of coverage.

NOTICE OF PROTECTION PROVIDED BY
MARYLAND LIFE AND HEALTH INSURANCE GUARANTY CORPORATION

The Corporation is not a department or unit of the State of Maryland and the liabilities or debts of the Life and Health
Insurance Guaranty Corporation are not liabilities or debts of the State or Maryland.

The Corporation was established to provide protection in the unlikely event that your life, annuity, or health insurance
company becomes financially unable to meet its obligations and is taken over by its insurance department.  If this should
happen, the Corporation will typically arrange to continue coverage and pay claims, in accordance with Maryland law, with
funding from assessments paid by other insurance companies.

$250,000 in the present value of annuity benefits, including net cash withdrawal values and net cash surrender
values

NOTE:  Certain policies and contracts may not be covered or fully covered.  For example, coverage does not extend
to any portion(s) of a policy or contract that the insurer does not guarantee, such as certain investment additions to the
account value of a variable life insurance policy or a variable annuity contract.  There are also various residency
requirements and other limitations under Maryland law.

To learn more about the above protections, please visit the Corporation's website at www.mdlifega.org, or contact:

Maryland Life and Health Insurance Guaranty Corporation
8817 Belair Road, Suite 208
Perry Hall, Maryland 21236
410-248-0407

Maryland Insurance Administration
200 St. Paul Place, Suite 2700
Baltimore, Maryland 21202
1-800-492-6116, ext. 2170

Insurance companies and agents are not allowed by Maryland law to use the existence of the Corporation or its
coverage to encourage you to purchase any form of insurance.  When selecting an insurance company, you
should not rely on Corporation coverage.  If there is any inconsistency between this notice and Maryland law,
then Maryland law will control.

$500,000 for basic hospital, medical, and surgical insurance or major medical insurance provided by health benefit
plans

$100,000 for a type of health insurance not listed above, including any net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal
values under the types of health insurance listed above

With respect to each payee under a structured settlement annuity, or beneficiary of the payee, $250,000 in present
value annuity benefits, in the aggregate, including any net cash surrender and net cash withdrawal values.

$300,000 in aggregate for all types of coverage listed above, with the exception of basic hospital, medical, and
surgical insurance or major medical insurance



 

 
 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

400 Robert Street North  •  St Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098 
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